Fear of Public Speaking? Let’s fight back!

Recently, I’ve seen a photo posted on Facebook feed, from one popular page, it says that 3 out of 4 people have Glossophobia, or another word, the fear of public speaking. Well, I truthfully dont know where this research has come from, but they posted it, then it must be somehow true.

The reason I talk about this because I am not quite sure about this, I am actually 1 out 4 people that never get scared of speaking in public, and I’ve actually found just a small group of people in my life that scared of public speaking. Maybe I am from a talkative society? well dont get me wrong,, this post is only from the perspective of a talking-too-much girl 🙂

I’ve been played as a main actress in drama club, and since I was majored in Entertainment media I’ve involved in lots of my friends’ movies, also I’ve done lots of MCs as well. I wasn’t good at the beginning.. but it’s gotten better through time 🙂 I was once shaking so much speaking publicly..now speaking in public is just like peeling a banana 😛

Anyways, I would like to bring out my question here: What kind of speakers are you?

it surely doesn’t only have fear and not fear speakers: I mean are you persuasive speaker? Inspirational speaker? Motivator? and so on… speaker??? and we’re not talking about confidence…just only a type of it….

.

_______________________________________________

.

In this post, I am going to talk about ‘my theory’ (and a little bit of secondary and maybe self-case study).!

Let’s fight back this Glossophobia!

The Symptoms for these Glossophobia are varied. Some shaking their hand, some shaking their bodies (which I’ve been like this a couple year ago). or even some people could feel nausea and fainted.

fear of public speaking statistics (Speech Topics help, 2012)

you can see that Glossophobia is the largest group among others. Furthermore, it’s even sadder when these Glossophobia people are actually has good analytical and critical thinking side but can’t actually be able to speak them out.

.

In this post, I’m not going to diagnose you whether you’ve Glossophobia or not…because I’m not a psychotherapist..I’m a design manager that interested in Glossophobia.

Glossophobia is a type of anxiety that your mind has created up by imagining bad things are going to happen while you are speaking. Some people might have self experience when they were at young, presenting in front the class and get bullied or not satisfied any friends. Well, for me…i think i have one in term of singing. Since I was young, my friends told me my voice sucks..and I’m actually believing it…even sometimes now. That makes me don’t want to sing much in Karaoke or in public.

Then, I’ve realised that this is actually my self-belief. When you’ve low self-esteem, and not confident, it has greatly increase chances the fear will overcome your mind. This is because last year I went and accidentally HAD to sing in public, they actually like it and said i’m good. Therefore, I think back to myself, the reason i sang in the right key and sang it good because I PRACTICE!

Practice Practice Practice…in the shower…and it’s actually only one song i’m so good with …lols

.

Here is the first Rule to overcome your Glossophobia….Practice yourself…one classic suggestion would be practice in front of the mirror..or be more techonological…use Photo Booth to record it then 🙂 Remember Practice makes Perfect!

After Practicing and you’ve recorded yourself a video. Watch it! However, don’t spot your mistakes of what you’re saying..watch your eye contacts , your body movements, and most important your hand gestures.

1. Eye Contact : It’s really important to make an eye contact with your audiences. I was once in the lecture where the lecturer looked up all the time ==”… so everyone didnt pay attention.. and felt bored so quick. On the other hand, there once said my teacher that, “If you’re speaking and doesn’t know where to look at… look straight” well this theory sometimes works and sometimes not. I suggest you should keep changing the look between the first and the middle row…this is because the first row is the nearest group of people to you..so somehow they are those who pay attention most. SO LOOK AT THEM! 

Check yourself: Don’t look down or up too high, don’t look around too quick, you’ll look insane instead.

2. Body Movements: Never Ever stand still speaking like you’re forced to speak. I bet there will be a large wide space for you to explore around on the stage. walk left to right …slowly..then combine with the eye contact to the front and middle row…imagine this in your mind…you’ve become an professional looking speaker now!

Check yourself: Don’t stand stiff. 

3. Hand Gestures: I’ve to admit I’ve a lot of hand gestures, i’ve to controlled myself not to have it too much during speaking. lol. it’s difficult at first, but practice makes perfect! Some people’s hand gestures are like they’re dancing..which are funny, and can end up dragging attention instead of your speech.

Check yourself:  what you could do is hold your hand and put it in front of your stomach. move a little as you refer to the new point.  Look at what Steve Jobs had done. Don’t play with your hair. and you could lose your hands as well, but don’t swing it

Now for these 3 steps, they could at least help you conquer your Glossophobia a little or more….

and two more important things you have to keep up in your mind are that

  • Be positive of what you are going to do, don’t be nervous
  • Take a deep breath and Just Relax..

Here is the pyramid I’ve done: The Pyramid of how to speak perfectly in public!

gpb

Thank you,

Fernnye

___________________________________________

.

3 thoughts on “Fear of Public Speaking? Let’s fight back!

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompt 2 | A.Keeney Author

  2. Pingback: 3 Fearless Rules – The Formula For Powerful Presenting | Markets And Trading

any nice ideas for comment?